top of page
  • Kellen Tanaka

Peer Prompt: What Piece of Technology Should be Created Next?

Updated: May 16, 2019

The next piece of technology that should be created next, in my opinion, are swarm drones. It is important before I continue my elaboration on the answer to this question that the prompt specifically refers to the creation of technology following right after the technology we have today through the use of the word "next". In my Extended Essay Project that I am completing for the full IB Diploma program for the next two year, I am analyzing "To what extent do swarm drones improve the United States Marine Corps ability to counter terrorism?". I will not answer the question directly but focus on why the swarm drones should be next in development. In today's military operations, much of SOCOM's (Special Operations Command) mission involves identifying a targeted individual or threat and potentially eliminating the threat if necessary. Lives are lost in the process of those that are carrying out these SOCOM created missions. If swarm drones are created, they will have the ability to identify and locate high targeted individuals or certain threats much faster than SOCOM units. This is mainly due to the fact that swarm drones are small and have the ability to be deployed in large numbers. These swarm drones will also be developed with the ability to eliminate that high targeted individual or threat after it is identified and communicated to the other drones using the peer-to-peer method (where the drones communicate to each other rather than of a cloud service). With all being said, swarm drones have the potential to not only make SOCOM mission more cost effective and efficient, but save lives of those serving their nation.

1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

An Olfactory Diary

Scent 1: My room I can clearly identify this as when I go to my parent's room versus my rooms, they smell different. The smell difference I noticed occurred in the morning of Saturday. The smell of my

bottom of page