top of page
  • Kellen Tanaka

"Melancholy" (with sketchnote)

1.


2. Melancholia stood out to me the most as it represents the difficulty I went through when I was in elementary school. It relates to the very dark points during that time. However through experiencing melancholia, I was able to become a stronger person through that scar. I was also able to somehow get through the pain and see through to the light at the end of the tunnel.


3.

“I felt that I breathed an atmosphere of sorrow.” - This relates to the picture as the overall literal atmosphere of this photo is dark and has a sense of sorrow to itself.

4. The quote from the poem of which I favored most was:


But when the melancholy fit shall fall

       Sudden from heaven like a weeping cloud,

That fosters the droop-headed flowers all,

       And hides the green hill in an April shroud;


This is not only due to the fact that it is relatable to the photo I took above of the giraffes during a dark cloudy day, but it relates to what everyone and what they need to push through pain. People need the sense of hope. They need to be able to see some sort of light at the end of the tunnel and, as the quote says, the light at the end will forever be present somewhere and it may be so small that it is hard to see. It may look so small that it appears the darkness has totally covered it (as referred to as it says "And hides the green hill in an April shroud"). This quote is also something mentor-like that has a great possibility to change someone's life on a dime and may be used be me to help others going through dark times.


5. Completed on Spotify by adding the song Strength to Believe by Epic Score.

0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

An Olfactory Diary

Scent 1: My room I can clearly identify this as when I go to my parent's room versus my rooms, they smell different. The smell difference I noticed occurred in the morning of Saturday. The smell of my

bottom of page