top of page
  • Kellen Tanaka

An Olfactory Diary

Scent 1: My room

I can clearly identify this as when I go to my parent's room versus my rooms, they smell different. The smell difference I noticed occurred in the morning of Saturday. The smell of my room can sometimes motivate me to be lazy.

Scent 2: My parent's room

I can clearly identify this as when I go to my moms room versus my rooms, they smell different. The smell difference I noticed occurred in the morning of Saturday. The smell of my parent's room reminds me of the parenting part that they constantly do in my life. Therefore I try to prevent myself from going in.

Scent 3: My dog

I can clearly identify this as we use a particular shampoo that has a distinct smell which leads to the relation between the scent I smell to the dog. I smelt this on Sunday afternoon when I played with him. This smell makes me feel happy as my dog is always happy.

Scent 4: My cologne

I can clearly identify this as I have a certain bottle of cologne that I use and I can clearly relate the smell of the liquid to the cologne bottle. I smelt this on Sunday evening as I had to attend an important dinner. This normally makes me feel like a professional when I smell this.

Scent 5: My iPad case

I can clearly identify this as my iPad case has a smell that does not match any other than I know off therefore earning the name iPad case smell. It's a combination of the smell of my room and the classrooms at Mid Pacific. I smelled this on both Saturday and Sunday whenever I did homework and it reminds me of the many homework I have to complete for the coming week.

Scent 6: My band classroom

I can clearly identify this smell as I have connected the smell of the band to the combination of instruments (brass), and the ac system in place. I smelled this on Saturday afternoon as I have band rehearsal on that day and it reminds me of when I used to play the saxophone during the 6th period last year.

Scent 7: Weinberg

I can clearly identify this smells as I have connected the smell of Weinberg to the smell of new technology and burning wood that is a result from the laser cutter. I smelled this on Sunday afternoon after the band concert because I decided to walk around campus and this reminds me of the many IB Exams and Finals I have coming up.

Scent 8: Atherton

I can clearly identify this smell as I have connect the smell of Atherton to the combination of smells of a new AC system to an old smelling building. I smelled this on Sunday afternoon after the band concert because I decided to walk around campus and this reminds me of the classes that I used to have as a middle schooler that were mostly based in Atherton.

Scent 9: Boys Locker Room

I can clearly identify this smell as I have identified the smell of sweat that I normally smell from other people that do not take showers often and workout. I smelled this on Saturday afternoon as I had a track meet that day and this reminds me of the PE class I used to take.

Scent 10: Bakken

I can clearly identify this smell as I have chapel every Wednesday and this place a the distinct smell that makes you feel comfortable and cold. I smelled this on Sunday afternoon as I had a band concert that day and this reminds me of all of the chapels I used to attend during middle school.

1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page